football Edit

Logan Woodside Added to Maxwell Award Watch List


Toledo, OH – Junior quarterback Logan Woodside was today added to the official Watch List for the 2016 Maxwell Award. The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937. Teammate Kareem Hunt is also on the Maxwell Award Watch List.

Last week, Woodside was added to the official watch list today for the 2016 Manning Award, which honors the nation’s top quarterback.

Through six games this season, Woodside has led the Rockets to a 5-1 record and put up some impressive numbers. He has completed 71.3 percent of his passes for 2,013 yards. He leads the nation with 24 touchdown passes. He is second the nation in passing efficiency (204.0), and leads the country in yards per attempt (11.1).

Woodside’s 24 touchdown passes already puts him at No. 5 on Toledo’s all-time season TD list. Bruce Gradkowski holds the school record with 29 in 2003 and 2005.

Woodside’s addition to the Maxwell Award watch list gives Toledo a school-record nine players on a total of 12 official watch lists.

2016 Toledo National Awards – Official Watch Lists

Treyvon Hester

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (Top defensive player)

Rotary Lombardi Trophy (Top lineman)

Kareem Hunt

Doak Walker Award (Top running back)

Maxwell Award (Top overall player)

Corey Jones

Paul Hornung Award (Most versatile player)

Storm Norton

Rotary Lombardi Trophy (Top lineman)

Michael Roberts

John Mackey Award (Top tight end)

DeJuan Rogers

Jim Thorpe Award (Top defensive back)

Brad Spelman

Wuerffel Trophy (Community service)

Cody Thompson

Biletnikoff Award (Top receiver)

Logan Woodside

Manning Award (Top quarterback)

Maxwell Award (Top overall player)